Slump No More!

So Friday and Saturday morning I was in a bit of a slump. I really don’t have much to complain about because my life is pretty awesome, but I just felt kind of tired. I wasn’t sleepy tired so much as just physically tired, my arms and legs felt like lead and my brain was working at a similar pace. Even Mary’s amazing M+M, butterscotch chip, chocolate chip, oatmeal cookies couldn’t cheer me up. And they were pretty freakin’ ballin.

Amazing, no?

I tried to counteract this weird lazy spell by gymming it up on Friday–I walked at 3.5 mph at a 14% incline on the treadmill for 35 minutes, then I got on the raptor (aka arc-trainer) for another 30. I left the gym still feeling tired and a little bit down. Bleh, it was a bad gym day to say the least.

This morning I woke up in the same funk, but I refused to let it get the best of me. I made pumpkin cookies a la Teri.

Used all the same ingredients except I used 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 whole wheat flour. I also only used a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, but the flavor was still amazing!

Yes I’m a loser, I already know. And yes, that large jug next to me is home-pressed hard cider. A lot of interesting things happen here.

Anndddd…the finished product:

Moist. Delicious. Amazing.

They freeze extremely well, so if you make extra that is definitely okay 🙂 Just make sure to freeze them pretty soon after baking otherwise they can become a little bit chewy.

Okay, that was the last picture, I promise. Can you tell I’m a bit obsessed with these beauties?

[As a sidenote, I’ve made these cookies probably about 6-7 times already and they come out fantastic everytime! I love them and they’re made with really healthy ingredients. If the recipe makes about 20 cookies then they’re only 100 calories each! Can’t beat that.]

After the cookie-making fiesta, I decided that I needed to get moving or my entire day would be spent in this funk. The weather was really nice yesterday (40 degrees), which is wayyy better than Friday’s 10 degree highs, so I decided a run was in order. I haven’t run outside in probably about 3 weeks because the cold really deters me. I hate being cold. Really, it’s one of my least favorite things in the universe. This has kept me indoors for a while now, which may have been the problem.

I only intended to run for about 2 miles given that I haven’t run in so long, but once I got out there, I felt fantastic. I didn’t want to stop. My mood immediately improved and I just felt really great moving my legs outside again.

If you had told me 6 months ago that I was going to feel this great running I never would have believed you. I definitely never considered myself a runner, but this one run has started to change all that. I didn’t worry about my pace or time, I just focused on being outside and putting one leg in front of the other. I wound up running a little over 4 miles, and I was happy all the way til the end 🙂

Now, Evan thinks that this is all just because I have a touch of Seasonal Affective Disorder (since I haven’t been out in so long) and this may be true, but I honestly think that the endorphin-y running feeling was all I needed 🙂

Post-run glow!

After that I was off to work–I’m a server at an fancy schmancy restaurant in Eastford, CT. I worked the brunch shift this morning as well, and now it’s just another lazy Sunday on the farm. Mary, Miles, Evan, and I are planning on playing adult rec soccer later tonight, which should be interesting considering the last time I played soccer I was probably about 6. Mary and Evan played soccer in high school so hopefully they’ll take pity on my pathetic soccer skills.

Hope you have a great night!

One thought on “Slump No More!

Leave a Reply

