Shalom Tel Aviv!

Alright, I know I’ve been super secretive and weird about the whole Israel thing, but now I’ll give a bit of further information about my upcoming adventure ๐Ÿ™‚

Sooo a little over 3 years ago (the summer after my freshman year) I got my first taste of Israel through the Taglit-Birthright program. This program gives Jewish students aged 18-26 the opportunity to travel to Israel on a free 10 day trip. I definitely took advantage of that opportunity and had the absolute time of my life.

I floated in the Dead Sea.

Stuck a note in the Western Wall.

Rode a freakin’ camel.

Ate amazing amounts of falafal.

And so much more.

I knew that eventually I would have to come back to Israel for the long term.

After graduating I started to research programs in Israel. I knew that I wanted to teach English and focus on human rights issues/awareness (which was the main concentration of my college thesis). After a few weeks of searching I found the Tikkun Olam in Tel Aviv-Jaffa program. I will be embarking on the 5 month community service track at the beginning of February (ah, so soon!). I’ll be serving the African refugee population in South Tel Aviv and living right in the city. I get to pick 3 different volunteer locations, which include opportunities to teach English and even assist with a therapeutic horseback riding program (so awesome).

The program is sponsored by the MASA foundation, which helps in funding long term trips to Israel. Because of MASA there will only be a relatively small fee in participating in the program–even though its small I’m still working my bootie off to make tons of moolah before I go. I want to be able to travel extensively while I’m there!

I’m taking off in just a few weeks and I can hardly wait! It’s going to be a challenging and eye-opening experience, yet I welcome the challenge and I look forward to being an “Israeli” for 5 months ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

