Christmas Presents Galore!

Oh my goodness, it’s party central here at home. I’ve gone to 5 Christmas parties in the past 2 days! The parties have all been fun and I love seeing my friends from home, but I am definitely eating and drinking wayyyy too much. I’ll need a Christmas detox after this weekend. Major.

This year I decided to be crafty and make homemade presents for my friends. I knew I wanted to do something foody and let’s be honest, who doesn’t love Christmas cookies? I eventually decided on Cookie Mix Jars πŸ™‚

I went online to check out some cookie-in-a-jar recipes, just to gauge approximately how much room I’d have for ingredients. After that I went out to Michaels and bought a few one-quart jars.

I found a number of butterscotch chip cookie recipes online and ultimately created my own blend of ingredients for the jar. So, this is what went into the mix:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 cup sweetened coconut

1 cup rice krispies

1/3 cup butterscotch chip

1/3 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Definitely push the ingredients down because they just barely fit in the jar!!

So, with all the dry ingredients already in the jar, the only further ingredients the recipient needs are a 1/2 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla (or a bit more), and 1 egg.

I made cute index cards for the side of the jars listing the dry ingredients, additional wet ingredients needed, and the directions for making the cookies. The directions are super simple: Empty cookie jar mix into bowl. Add butter, vanilla, and egg. Mix until completely blended and roll into small balls. Place on unprepared cookie sheet and flatten with hand. Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

I tied ribbon around the jars just to make things a bit more festive.

A great holiday gift! Super easy and inexpensive, but they look beautiful πŸ™‚

I hope everyone had a great Christmas! I got a late Hanukkah gift from my parents in the form of a Kindle..yes! Now I won’t have to lug tons of books with me to Israel and I’ll be able to find new novels that are in English (that was a huge problem for me when I studied abroad my sophomore year).

New England is supposed to be hit hard with tons of snow tomorrow and I’m pretty excited about it πŸ™‚ Despite my horrid relationship with the cold, new snowfall makes winter almost bearable. I’m fresh out of college so everytime I see snow I still get that “SNOW DAY!” feeling in the pit of my stomach.

Of course, I’m still at odds with the sub-freezing temps (hate).

Were in for a cold couple a days!!

Leave a Reply

