Mentally Wiped

Filing is getting to me. Filing is really really getting to me.

There’s only so long that a human being can withstand the mindless action of alphabetizing, disorganizing, and re-alphabetizing lists of names over and over and over again.

Today was one of those days where I just couldn’t stop my brain from thinking about how much I hated what I was doing. I pull the same charts all day long, and the sad thing is that many of the 600+ names are becoming quite recognizable. It’s like we’re friends. (Okay, now I sound seriously crazy).

I know that I need to turn this “tude” around. I only have 3 weeks left, and the fact that there’s an end-point to this job is what’s getting me through. I just can’t help getting down sometimes–most of my friends have graduated and are in amazing permanent jobs, while I’m still struggling to figure out what I want in life. I know that I wouldn’t want it any other way at this point, it’s just that I feel like I should be something useful with my college degree. Waitressing and office filing are not things I envisioned doing post-college.

But, like I said before, I definitely need to stay positive about all of the amazing things happening in my life (because there are a ton!). I have incredible friends that I know will always be there and a family supportive of my decision to be a little spontaneous after college. I just had the opportunity to live on an organic farm (commune ;)) with a bunch of awesome people for the last 7 months. And best of all, I’ll be living in freakin’ Israel for the next 5 months, volunteering with refugees in Tel Aviv. I’ll travel, volunteer, and live in a country I’ve always been drawn to.

My life is on the up-and-up and things are getting better by the day. Sure filing sucks, but the money I make will allow me to travel to places I’ve never been before. I’m unbelievably lucky to have this opportunity and I am so excited for what’s to come–did I just cheer myself up in this single post? I think so 😉

After work today, I hopped on the elliptical at the gym for an hour before heading home. Now, my plans include cleaning my room while simultaneously watching the Jersey Shore. I’m may be am slightly addicted.

Have a happy night!

Leave a Reply

