Hot-Tub House

Hello! How was everyone’s weekend? I hope it was awesome!

Right now I’m sitting on the couch at my parent’s house with three blankets layered on top, and yet I’m still shivering! Winter is reaching its peak of freezing and I’m getting a little bit sick of it. Okay, Mother Nature, time to put a stop to this horse hockey.

Right now it’s midnight in Israel and about 60 degrees. Soon, soon, soon.

This weekend started off with a great class at Sportsplex called Weekend Warrior. After successfully doing Intense Bootcamp last Tuesday I feel like I can now really broaden my class repertoir. I’m no longer needlessly intimidated by the class names, and I feel like I have a ton of options now! Doing things that scare me is really paying off 🙂

Weekend Warrior was a lot like Bootcamp except more set-based. I imagine that it’s probably similar to Bodypump (though I’ve never taken Bodypump before) except there was quite a bit of cardio involved using a step and a small barbell. It was taught by the same instructor as the Bootcamp, and his classes are definitely winning out in my book! This may be a weekend ritual for the next few weeks 🙂

After Weekend Warrior I headed up to Bolton, CT to visit my former roomies at their new house. I know I mentioned this house before, but this was my first time visiting when the house was all put together and unpacked (it looks incredible, guys!!)

*As a strange sidenote, I was trying to figure out what exactly to call this house. I feel like homes need to have names or else it takes way too long to tell people where you’re going. For example, we called our last house “farmhouse/commune” for obvious reasons. Rather than saying, “Oh I’m going to Matt, Jess, Alana, Evan, Mary, and Miles’ house,” you could just “I’m going to the Farmhouse.” Wayyy easier. So for this new house we were trying to brainstorm an appropriate name.

The house’s most distinguishing feature?

This bad boy!

We christened this house “Hot-tub House,” and that shall be its name.

We spent almost the entire night sipping on wine in the hot-tub. Heaven. The fact that there were gigantic snowbanks surrounding the hot-tub (along with 15 degree temps) made the warm and toasty hot-tub that much better.

We didn’t want to walk the 15 feet between the house and pool with just our bikinis on so we donned our wintry-finest in order to make the trek.

Boots and jackets? Typical hot-tub attire.

After getting our hot-tub fill, Evan finally came home from work and he and I went to a bar down the road (we probably could have walked, it was so close!) just to check out the atmosphere. Evan had a few drinks, but I wasn’t feeling beer after the Margarita I had just had. The bar was definitely interesting (we were the youngest people in there by probably 15+ years haha). It will probably be better for watching Sunday football, March Madness, etc, not Saturday night karaoke haha.

Saturday, Evan’s sister Leslie and her friend Emily came to the house. We spent the day hanging around with them and then Evan took Leslie and I to Yuan Asian Bistro. I’ve written about this place once before on the blog and it definitely didn’t disappoint! We get a selection of sushi, pad thai, salad, and fried ice cream, and shared it all around. Delish!

After that it was hot-tub round 2 and bed!

Today, I spent the morning with my friend Justin hiking around Manchester, CT. We found ourselves at Case Mountain and hiked around for about 45 minutes. It was a huge uphill climb and once we had spent a few minutes at the top of the mountain we hiked back down (wayyy easier :)).

We stopped at Rein’s Deli in Vernon, CT for some sami’s, and then I headed home. Which leads me to where I am right now, vegging on the couch and doing some online Israel errands.

Jersey Shore tonight!! AH, so pumped! Is anyone else as obsessed as I am?

Leave a Reply

