First Recipe!

Another icy day here in CT! It snowed a few inches overnight and we’ve had icy rain all day since. I spent most of the day parked on the couch seeing as I couldn’t get into work earlier due to the weather. I got a lot of good reading done 🙂 This new novel that I’m reading, Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, is pretty fantastic. I’m halfway through and it’s really gripping from page to page!

At 4:00, I made my way over to Sportsplex for a LesMills BodyCombat class. My honest opinion? I was extremely disappointed.  The instructor was very high energy, I just don’t think she had much to work with in terms of the routine. I was never really out-of-breath and felt like it was a little bit of a waste of my time. We did different punching and kicking combinations, but it just wasn’t cardio-intensive enough. Although my arms were sore afterwards I knew I needed something else for the night.

So onwards to Intense Bootcamp (love). It was so so hard tonight (way harder than last week). We did 10 different 1-minute stations involving squats, running stairs, suitcase abs, step-ups, dips, etc. In between each station we did 40-second group cardio blasts which included jumping jacks with weights, butt-kicks, and fast push-ups. After the 10 stations we took a one-minute break and repeated the process all over again. For the last 15 minutes we did some abs and stretched it out. I love this class because it gives me new ideas for strength-training moves–every station is something new and I like having all these new options!

After the gym I came home to make some dins! I realize that I have yet to post a recipe on this blog, so here it comes 🙂

I gave my mom the Cooking with All Things Trader Joes cookbook for Hanukkah (she’s a Trader Joes fiend!) and I took advantage of one of the great recipes inside. While this is based on the recipe, I did my own thing with some of it.

Spiced Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of Trader Joes steamed lentils (or 2 and 1/2 cups of regular canned lentils)
  • Olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped (I used a large one and chopped pretty big chunks)
  • 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 1.5 tsp ground cumin
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • Chopped cilantro
  • Lowfat sour cream

Directions:

Heat olive oil (maybe 2 tbsp) in a pan over medium-high heat. Add onions and carrots and sautee for about 10 minutes.

After carrots and onions soften, stir in 1.5 tsp cumin.

Then stand around and be amused by how bowed the teaspoon measure is.

Let the cumin toast for about 30 seconds and then add vegetable broth, lentils, and salt. Don’t fret if it tastes really bland. At this point sit back and relax while the mixture simmers for 15-20 minutes. The flavors will come together as it simmers! The liquid will absorb and the soup will become a bit thicker.

After simmering, turn the heat off and add the lemon juice.

This gives the soup a little bit of acidity, delish!

Garnish each bowl with some cilantro and a dollop of sour cream.

Eat and love your life.

I also had a Trader Joes Masala burger (by far my favorite veggie burger) on the side, along with some salad.

This will make a good lunch for tomorrow’s work day too!

Have a terrific night!

Leave a Reply

