Step and Cookies with a Side of Rufus

What was at the beginning a crazy phenomena is now getting a tad ridiculous. We got dumped with another foot of snow last night. While I love the white fluffy stuff, we’re running out of places to put the snow! There is no longer a railing on my back deck (and that thing is four feet tall!). In its place stand mounds and mounds of built up ice and white fluff. Ridiculous!

My car is now a decorative driveway ornament.

Yes, I took those last couple of pictures while driving my car. I’m talented. Or irresponsible. You decide.

Yesterday after work my mom and I went snowshoeing as the snow was falling around 4:30. It was actually really beautiful, we were the only ones walking through the hiking trails at Holcomb Hill, and I really felt so secluded. My mom and I stopped at one point and just took a look around. I know I’m an extremely lame English major, but I felt like Thoreau living on Walden Pond! As he put it…

Nature is full of genius, full of the divinity; so that not a snowflake escapes its fashioning hand.

Okay, I’m done with this literary torture, I promise. But it really was a special moment! The snow falling, the muted white flakes covering the dark tree branches, it was beautiful. While I love cities, I don’t think I could ever stop being a country girl–its just too nice to be outside in the woods 🙂

After snowshoeing, I made (and ate :)) some of Teri’s pumpkin cookies, and went to bed.

Today, after work, my mom and I tried out a new class at Sportsplex. This one was called Burn and Blend. It was a combination of step and pilates. When I walked in I knew immediately that this might not be the class for me. First of all, it was full of people who were a solid 30-40 years older than me. NOT that this is always a bad sign–in fact, Intense Bootcamp is often a mix of young and middle-aged gym-goers. However, I was the only person under 50 in Burn and Blend. Not always a great sign.

Secondly, everytime I take a step class I feel like I’ve taken a Time Machine back into the 80s. I’m extremely uncoordinated and I always feel slightly ridiculous. Like I should be wearing leg-warmers and a leotard, while running around with gigantic teased hair.

Thank you Jane Fonda for clarifying my point.

The class wasn’t as cardio intensive as I wanted it to be. We did a ton of floor movements and only got on the step in the last 20 minutes of the class’s “step portion.” The second half was Pilates, but again I’m not too big a fan. It was definitely hard, but I feel like Pilates focuses far more on form/breathing as opposed to getting a quick and effective ab workout underway.

I’m not sure if I would come back to this class or not. Now that I compare everything to the Boot Camp class I’m not sure that anything will really match up to it. The hot instructor may play a small part in this as well. Just sayin 😉

After the class I went on the cookie mission! I was determined to make Mama Pea’s absolutely delicious looking cookie dough balls. These cookies definitely did not disappoint and they were really easy to make. I basically used Mama Pea’s recipe with the substitution of real butter and all AP flour as opposed to some pastry flour (didn’t have any.) Here’s what went into my mix:

Cookie Dough Balls

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon

Like MamaPea suggested I first combined the butter, sugar (both kinds), salt, vanilla extract, and flour. Using my mixer, I combined the ingredients of medium speed until they clumped together.

At first the ingredients looked really dry and wouldn’t come together. I was worried that there wasn’t enough moisture but after 2 minutes or so it all combined. Don’t worry if it doesn’t mix right away, eventually it will be smooth and dough-like.

After mixing everything I made up the topping. I combined 2 teaspoons of cinnamon with 2 tablespoons of sugar. I also brought out some sprinkles for 1/2 of the batch.

I then made golf-ball sized balls out of the dough and covered each in either sprinkles or the cinnamon mix!

Sorry for the blurry shots, they kind of looked like munchkin doughnuts!

After 10 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees they turned out like this:

A little flatter than I would have wanted but if I had left them in for 8 minutes and used 1 cup ap flour, 1/4 cup pastry flour we might have had a better situation. Despite their flatness, these dough balls were delicious! They were half-baked, soft, and tasted almost like shortbread cookies. So so good.

My friend Elisa’s mom, Tracy, came over to have dinner and the four of us (mom, dad, tracy, and I) went to town on those cookies. Out of the 15 I made only 4 are left, I’d say that’s a pretty good sign 🙂

Tracy’s dog Rufus came to join the party as well. I am in love with this pup-a-lup.

He’s a Majestic Tree Hound. Yes, that is legit a breed. Look it up.

He was really interested in helping me make the cookies. So much so that he attacked my cookie-eating self.

On tap for tonight? Jersey Shore of course! Have a good night 🙂

Leave a Reply

