Ice Ice Baby

This morning I got my first glimpse of the ice-world that surrounds us! After last night’s ice storm a quarter-inch of the glassy stuff encased literally everything in the yard. It was absolutely beautiful (even more beautiful because I didn’t have to go to work! Real world snow day…woohoo!).

A Winter Wonderland ๐Ÿ™‚

So what does this call for? A big bowl of oatmeal of course. I’m going to be honest, in the past I never spent a whole lotta time on breakfast. It just didn’t seem important and if I was going to put effort into meal it was going to be something substantial like dinner. But lately I’ve been trying to move out of my comfort zone of dry cereal and instant oatmeal. So today I made old-fashioned oats for the first time ever ๐Ÿ™‚

Alana’s Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Bonanza

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • a tsp (maybe more) of cinnamon
  • a 1/2 tbsp peanut butter
  • tablespoon of sweetened coconut

Heat the oats, milk, and water in saucepan on medium heat. After about a minute slice the 1/2 banana into thin slices and add to the saucepan. Gradually whisk the mixture for 3-4 minutes. The banana will emulsify creating a really thick bowl of oats! Once the banana is fully incorporated and the oats have been cooked through, take the saucepan off the heat. Add the pumpkin for extra volume (don’t worry if you don’t like the taste of pumpkin, you can’t even tell it’s there!–this will just thicken the mixture and give the oatmeal more oomph). Pour the mixture into a bowl and add the peanut butter/coconut/cinnamon.

The end result will look a little something like this:

Creamy and delicious, the way oatmeal’s supposed to taste! Not like that nast instant variety…im never going back!

My mom and I were stuck at home today (plus we both have a cold, boo) so we spent the day relaxing and getting some errands done before the big trip. My mom was awesome and helped me (both literally and figuratively) get my shit together.

We cleaned my gerbil’s cage.

Her name is Benzene (that’s a story within itself) and she’ll be living with Matt, my old roommate, for the next few months.

Made some tea.

Why yes, that is a Looney Tunes mug.

And got started on the disastrously overwhelming situation that is packing.

As you can see I still have quite a ways to go!

As a side note, these are the first pictures I’ve taken with my very own camera ๐Ÿ™‚ Evan bought it for me as a going-away present and I love it! I’ve been using both Evan’s camera and my parent’s camera for the last few months, so this was a really great gift. I’ll be able to take it with me and document all my Israel happenings.ย Thanks Ev! I love it!

Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

