Who’s Ready for some Football?

Superbowl Sunday! Next to the Olympics, this is definitely my favorite major sporting event. (It even beats out the Stanley Cup playoffs–I know, I know..blasphemous!)

Superbowl Sunday has cute boys in spandex, a halftime show that usually rocks, the crowd-pleasing puppy bowl, hilarious commercials, and best of all? APPETIZERS GALORE!

Now, when I think of Superbowl eats the first thing that comes to mind is usually nachos. Or any kind of chip/dip combo, really. So for today’s game I made an incredibly easy 5-layer bean dip with homemade guac. It took all of 15 minutes and it was flipping delicious.

Usually when I attempt guacamole, it doesn’t exactly turn out swimmingly. Or edible for that matter. My friends and parents can attest to that. But this summer a co-worker completely changed my approach to the green stuff. Kevin, a self-professed “guac-boy,” worked at a Mexican restaurant in his hometown. His sole job? Making the “at-the-table” guacamole for customers. This simple recipe essentially does the work for you–you can’t screw up (which is good for guac-destroyers like myself). So without further ado…

Semi-Homemade (without Sandra Lee) Guacamole

  • 4 avocados
  • 16 oz container of fresh salsa (I used the La Mexicana brand)
  • 1 lime

Seriously, could that ingredient list be any shorter? So first scoop out the avocados into a medium sized-bowl. Mash the avocados–I like my guac a little chunkier so I left some bigger pieces, but it would be great smooth too.

Add about 2/3 of the salsa and mix.

Make sure the salsa’s fresh–pico de gallo esque. Add more to taste if desired.

Add the juice of one lime.

Mix and enjoy!

So simple. So great. This ain’t your average guac recipe, so prepare yourself for greatness.

Now, what to do with the guac?

Why, put it in a bean dip, of course!

5-Layer Bean Dip

  • 1 can refried beans
  • tsp cumin
  • 1/2-1 cup salsa
  • 1/2-1 cup sour creme
  • 1/2-1 cup of guacamole (recipe above)
  • 1/2-1 cup cheddar cheese or mexican blend

Combine can of refried beans with cumin and spread along bottom. At this point the order is up to you. I layered mine refried beans, salsa, guacamole, sour creme, and cheddar. But really any way you want to do it is fine. The amounts are really open-ended depending on how much you want/how big your container is.

And the end product looks like this:

Eat to your little heart’s content.

The full spread for the evening:

With fam and friends for the evening, it was a spectacular night. Plus, a Packers victory! Not that I’m particularly invested, but everyone around me was. It’s hard not to get caught up in all that excitement!

2 thoughts on “Who’s Ready for some Football?

Leave a Reply

