A Weekend In Eilat!

This past week I spent a few days in Eilat with Elad! He surprised me two weeks ago when he told me that he had a trip planned–I’d never been before so I was ridiculously excited. Eilat is known as the “Miami” of Israel so I had some pretty high expectations and I was definitely not disappointed!

We started our trip with a journey down to Eilat through the desert. We drove past Maktesh Ramon (of previous post fame) and stopped to visit with a few new friends along the way.

Oh hey guys!

We also stumbled upon multiple herds of these bad boys.

Toto, I don’t think we’re in Connecticut anymore.

We arrived at the Club Hotel in Eilat (which was beautiful!) and then we went for a drive around the city. Elad was stationed in Eilat during his army service so he knows the area really well. We toured around, checked out his naval base, and even drove up to the border of Egypt! It’s crazy to think that I was right at the border of a country that’s been in the news quite a bit lately.

Everything was so tropical! It was like the Caribbean nestled in between desert and mountains.

Later in the day we went to the aquarium and saw some sharks/fish!

There was also a weird spaceship-looking thing in the water that we walked out to.

In the bottom of the structure there were huge glass windows that gave us a great view underneath the Red Sea. The coral reefs and fish were absolutely incredible–almost like a glass-bottom boat experience.

Eze Yofi!

After hanging around the bottom of the spaceship thing we climbed to the top and looked out over all of Eilat.

Look at those reefs! The Red Sea is seriously yofi 🙂

The rest of the trip was a mix of shopping.

Eating delicious food.

Lounging around on the balcony.

(which included this lovely view of Jordan–look, you can see the Jordanian flag in the distance!)

Having some drinks on the beach.

And swimming in the Red Sea.

Pretty awesome.

The drive home was a little depressing (hey, we were leaving paradise!), but we took the route along the Dead Sea for a little more excitement.

You could feel the salt in the air!

Additionally, this was a common sight.

I totally forgot where I parked my camel.

Ps. How do I get these stupid timestamp things off my photos?

Eilat was pretty incredible, but now it’s back to the usual 🙂 I’ll be back soon with another post about my future plans. Some involving Israel, some involving vomiting babies, perhaps a journey south. Wayyyyyy south. Like, possibly the other end of the earth. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

