An Afternoon in Yafo

I went on a bike ride through Yafo on Friday. I rode by the port and eventually found myself at a grassy park.

I sat in the park with my dear friend Eliyahu and we looked out over the sea/Tel Aviv skyline.

After sitting and writing in the park for about an hour, I rode back towards central Yafo. I bought a falafal pita and ate it by the shore.

While I was eating a man sat down on the bench next to me and we started chatting…in Hebrew!! I didn’t falter or break into English once! This pretty much culminated my time in Israel.

Of course, I’ll never be done with this country (I love love love it) but I feel like this really wrapped up my time here. I rode down the shore, sat on the beach for an hour, ate a falafal sandwich, and had a full conversation with someone in Hebrew. I’ve come a really long way (especially in terms of learning another language) in the past 5 months. I’m going to miss this place so much, but I’m taking moments like this with me and that’s what life is all about. You get to have moments like this and then they stay with you for the rest of your life. I’m sad to be leaving this wonderful place but I’m excited to see where I go next. Life really is a pretty big adventure…3 days til I’m back in the States!

Leave a Reply

