Slack-a-lackin’

So the blog’s gone to the wayside. Isn’t this always what happens when life changes around a whole lot? Habits, discipline, and routine go right out the window when something new is thrown into the mix. Well, after a few months of adjusting to this change I can safely say I’m back and plan on blogging more regularly (I know, get your party pants on people).

So you might wonder what exactly I’ve been doing over the past four months…

What’s that? You weren’t wondering? Well, I’m going to tell you anyway.

So, a number of very exciting things have taken place since the fam and I got back from vacation. Actually, one very exciting thing which was the catalyst that set my new adventure in motion…I got a job! Not just any job either, a job working for a non-profit organization called PJA & JFSJ (new name in the works, get excited people). PJA & JFSJ funds various social justice endeavors such as housing advocacy, home care workers campaigns, and small businesses in low income communities. Um, is that right up my alley or what?

I work in the service learning department, which basically means that I help in organizing volunteering service trips for college students/teens to places like New Orleans, Los Angeles, Tucson, New York, etc…It’s a great position and as you can imagine there was a whole lot of dancing involved when I found out 🙂

Okay, those all may or may not be from Israel (it’s a pretty happy place, a lot of dancing happens). But you get the idea.

So anyways, one of the best parts of this position? It’s located in…(drum roll please)…NYC!

I knew that when I came home from Israel I needed a new big adventure to move on towards. When you come from an experience that freeing, spontaneous, and incredible it would be a real let-down to go back to general life and routine. Well, life in NYC is certainly not routine. I feel like I haven’t slept in months (in the most amazing way possible). Here’s a brief synopsis of my time in the city so far:

I hang out a lot with this little lady. We create a shit ton of havoc and it may or may not be amazing.

Casey moved to the city around the same time that I did and I’m not sure what I would do without her.

I had my 23rd birthday with a whole bunch of crazy wonderful friends.

This is our family portrait. Aren’t we cute?

I went with Casey, her brother, and my brother to the 9/11 memorial.

It was really simple and incredible. If you come into the city I definitely recommend getting tickets and heading downtown (the tickets are free).

I celebrated santacon by dressing like an idiot and prancing through the streets of midtown Manhattan.

This may or may not have been the greatest mass street party I’ve ever been to (possibly better than Purim in Tel Aviv, but that’s only because everyone was in the same ridiculous costume). Why can’t everyday be Santacon?

I went bridesmaid dress shopping with these pretty ladies.

So excited to watch my best friend get married in September 🙂

Of course, I don’t spend all my time in NYC. Sometimes I go home to CT for a little visit.

Yes, my mother is reading us a children’s book. And yes, I am wearing a ridiculous hat. No, I see no problem with either of these things.

Quite a bit more has happened, but it’s hard to rehash four months of insanity. I’ll just have to start from here! Hopefully you’ll hear a lot more from me in the coming months, but for now I’m off to bed (yes it is 10pm. yes I am an old working women.) Night!

One thought on “Slack-a-lackin’

  1. What…no mention of Annual Metzger Drunken Festivus?!? I thought that might have been the highlight of your 4 months back in the states..

Leave a Reply

