I’m Baaaaccckkkk!

Hello blog world, it’s been a while! I know, I think I win the award for least consistent blogger of all time (though I guess two years of total non-usage is fairly consistent?). I used to use this blog as a space to write down all of the thoughts, experiences, and adventures I had during my post-college life. I was just out of college when I first started this blog: I was excited, I was scared, I was learning what it was like to live in the “real world.” Though I’m not sure how “real” the post-college world was in which I was living: I lived on a farm with six awesome friends, then I lived in Tel Aviv exploring all that Israel had to offer, and then moved to New York City when a position at a non-profit organization opened up. While my college years were some of the best years of my life, the post-college years (all four of them, can you believe it!) haven’t been too shabby either 😉 I’ve had amazing experiences that have certainly altered my world view and life path.

My last post was just after I ran the Disney Princess half marathon with Katie Rose back in 2012. While it was an amazing experience, I am certainly no runner and (SPOILER ALERT) I haven’t totally kept up with the whole running thing…(I realized that I’m a far better TV-watching marathoner than a running marathoner…and that’s okay! ;)). I did run a triathlon back in August, but we’ll get to that later!

So what have the last two years brought? A lot of change–and good change at that!

Change makes us uncomfortable, change makes us grow, and ultimately change brings us closer to where we need to be. And right now, I am exactly where I need to be 🙂

So what has happened in a nutshell?

  • I got laid-off from my non-profit job in May 2012. Womp Womp. The entire service-learning department was cut and four other people were laid-off as well. At the time, I was completely shocked and upset, but ultimately this was the kick-in-the-butt that I needed to get started on my career goals.
  • I started the NYC Teaching Residency Program during the summer of 2012. Funny enough, I actually applied for this program the day before I got laid-off (perhaps I have a future in psychic readings?). The NYC Teaching Residency Program is a very similar model to most alternative teacher preparation programs. NYCTR is a program run through the NYC Dept. of Education. The program includes one “residency” year in a classroom under the mentorship of an experienced teacher. At the same time, the NYC Dept. of Ed. subsidizes a Masters degree in Education for all residents. After the year of residency, all participants have a 4-year commitment, teaching in underserved high-need city schools.
  • My residency year was CRAZY. It was a whirlwind of learning new teaching strategies, management techniques, and wrapping my head around what it is to be an inner-city teacher. I grew up in Newtown, Conn–about as far from an inner-city school environment as it gets. I was placed at M.S. 22 in the South Bronx and my mentor teacher, Ms. P, was a godsend. Truly, I can’t think of a better guide during my first year. I was placed with another resident (Steve) within her classroom, and it was truly an awesome learning experience. Under her guidance, I gained skills that have certainly helped during my first year as a teacher.
  • Two pretty incredible things happened within a week of each other this past August. August 4th, I was hired for my first lead teacher position. I was hired at West Bronx Academy for the Future as a 7th grade teacher. The second incredible thing? August 13th, I met Mike, a handsome and hilarious guy from MA. He’s a second-year medical student at a medical school just north of NYC and he’s pretty much the greatest. August was a wonderful month and he is the primary reason for that 🙂
  • In September, I ran a triathlon with Katie Rose and then started my first day of lead-teaching the very next day (AHH!). The day before the race, I panicked thinking about how much crazier my first day of school would be, but alas everything turned out alright! In fact, it was a lot of fun and took my mind off of things!
  • September-December were, hands-down, the hardest four months of my life. I was lead-teaching for the first time in my life (with a curriculum that was confusing as all hell), in a school with limited support and very difficult students. I took every day in stride, but it was definitely hard to get my bearings. I was also taking two graduate classes at St. John’s and two online courses as well. My work load was crazy and despite devoting all of my time to work, I still barely finished 75% of my work each week. I got 5 hours of sleep a night and looked like hell each day. Luckily, Mike was understanding of the fact that I looked like an 80-year-old haggard old lady. He also has a ton of work to do so we had a lot of library dates 🙂
  • March 2014, I said so long to NYC. As many people know, I have the most intense love-hate relationship with NYC that there ever was or will be. Though I wasn’t so crazy about NYC at the beginning, I grew to love the city and everything that it had to offer. I loved going out to eat with friends, wandering through Central Park, and (drunkenly) bar-hopping in Brooklyn. What did I not love? The rent prices. The limited access to nature. The lack of friendliness (some may disagree, but I find that New England is a much friendlier place). I moved out of my UES apartment (with my awesome roomie Evin.) While I was sad to leave the city and my friends, I haven’t gone too far! I moved just north to Westchester county. I’ll be living in Mike’s apartment in Valhalla for the next few weeks until we move into our new apartment together in Mamaroneck. Mamaroneck is right on the train line, a 20-minute commute to my school, and it’s near the beach! I am beyond pumped. Moving to an awesome new apartment with the guy I love? Doesn’t get much better than that.

So that’s where I am right now! I’m hoping to get back into blogging about my travels, adventures, eats, and experiences. In the meantime, here are a few pictures of the last three or so years of fabulousness:

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Lots of great things to come 🙂

3 thoughts on “I’m Baaaaccckkkk!

Leave a Reply

