That Time I Made Brownies, Angels Sang, Children Rejoiced, and all was right with the World

I made brownies last week. 

If you know me, you know this is huge.

I rarely cook anymore and am currently living in an apartment-style dorm. Needless to say, this is not something that happens a lot (so get out your cameras people)! Not that I don’t love baking, but I’ve been pretty slackertastic about it lately. Probably due to the fact that 90 children have overtaken my life and taken my time prisoner. I love you children, but it’s time to relinquish that iron grip on my social life.

However, April 11th was Mike’s 26th birthday (Happy Birthday!!) and seeing as he is pretty awesome, I had to make some awesome baked delights! I scoured Pinterest for hours (okay, more like 9 minutes) and adapted a recipe from Something Swanky. These brownies are gooey, melty, and heartwarming. Your boyfriend will think you are a fantastic baker/chef for at least a day and a half (or at least until you attempt to make him “cauliflower” mashed potatoes, which he will say he enjoys, but then secretly throw in the garbage so as not to offend–I KNOW YOUR SECRETS MICHAEL). 

So without further ado–the only recipe I’ve made lately that wasn’t a failure! 

**I apologize for the picture quality. No natural light!

Ooey Gooey Crunchy Chewy Brownies

1 Boxed German Chocolate Cake Mix 

14oz Sweetened Condensed Milk 

3/4 cup melted butter 

1 1/2 cups Heath Toffee Bits 

1/3 cup milk 

2 cups regular caramels, chocolate caramels, etc (I used caramel-filled hershey kisses!).

Directions: 

  • Mix together the boxed cake mix, half of the sweetened condensed milk, and the melted butter. Push half of the batter into the bottom of a well-greased 9×13 baking dish. 

ImageImage

Image

  • Stir the milk into the remaining half of the mixture and set aside. 
  • Place hershey kisses (unwrapped, of course) in a microwave-safe bowl with the other half of the sweetened condensed milk. Microwave for about one minute (some microwaves may require less time) and mix the two together until well blended. Pour over the batter in the 9x13inch dish. Spread evenly and sprinkle the Heath toffee bits on top. 

Image

  • Carefully pour the remaining batter (that you set aside earlier) over the top of the toffee bits. Spread carefully so that you don’t drag the toffee bits to the top. You want those to be adorably (and ever so deliciously) hidden beneath the upper brownie layer. A rubber spatula works best for this. 
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Do not overbake! The brownies will be gooey in the middle, but should be slightly set. 
  • Enjoy your decadent brownie treat solo or topped with ice cream (which I personally believe makes everything 600x better). Image

A happy happy birthday to the best! 

 

Leave a Reply

