Match Day

March 18, 2016. Match Day! The day that every medical student in the country anxiously waits for during their four years of study. It is the day where they find out their residency placement for the next 3-7 years (depending on speciality). Every medical student in the U.S. opens up an envelope at noon on match day that tells them exactly where they’re headed for residency. Obviously, this placement also determines where you live for a whole four years so it is very nerve-wracking! I can now say that we are VERY VERY happy with where we are headed 🙂 But let’s go back to the beginning of the day when we weren’t so sure where we were going to be!

Match day was on a Friday so I took the day off from school to be there. Mike went to his school early to have a class meeting and I waited at home anxiously anticipating the big moment. I cleaned the house, brushed my teeth about 16 times, and did everything else I could to avoid staring at the clock every other minute.

At 10am, Mike’s parents and sister Kelly arrived and we headed off for Mike’s school. I was obviously nervous and we discussed all of the different options for residency over and over again. Will we end up in Baltimore? New York City? Middle of nowhere Pennsylvania? New Hampshire? DC?

Buffalo??????

0

We arrived an hour early and eventually met up with Mike. They had everything set up in the lobby of the main building. There were about 300-400 people crammed into a small space, making for an even more anxious environment!

IMG_5635

Eventually, the ceremony began and there were a few different speakers from Mike’s school. The speakers all cracked jokes to lighten the mood, but really I just wanted the clock to strike 12 so that we could figure out where we would be!!

Finally, the wait was over. People started handing out the envelopes and students rushed over to receive theirs. Mike grabbed his envelope and walked back over to stand with us while he opened it. Of course, I was obviously already tearing up before he even got there. This envelope, this tiny envelope with one single piece of paper inside was about to determine where we would spend the next four years of our lives. I couldn’t believe that after all this time, all this waiting, we were going to finally figure out where we would start our life together.

Mike peeled open the envelope and slowly unfolded the paper. I looked down at the paper, scanning for a name that I hoped to recognize…

University of Vermont Medical Center

At this point, I started bawling like a baby. This was his TOP choice.

IMG_5642

Mike cheered and his parents and sister were beyond excited. Mike’s mom was crying, everybody was hugging. It was an awesome moment.

IMG_5645

I cannot believe we are lucky enough to spend our first four years of marriage in as awesome of a location as Burlington, Vermont. Such a beautiful place! Such an amazing location full of new adventures waiting to be had! I had to read the paper 3-4 more times to make sure that it wasn’t a mistake.

We later went outside to get champagne and I was shaking so badly from the anxiety and excitement that all of my champagne splashed to the ground (and they had to put my champagne in a red solo cup…so classy).

IMG_5649

IMG_5660
Mike and his medical school roommates 🙂

A month later, and I still can’t believe that this is our life. I’m about to spend the next four years with my best friend on a city right on the banks of Lake Champlain. A city that has an amazing culture and low-key attitude compared to the city where we currently live. Three more months until unlimited Ben and Jerrys, breweries, and farm life (that’s what Burlington is all about, right??). Vermont…we’re coming for ya!

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

